Musical Reality (Fiction, Rough Draft)

I have an idea for a story… I just haven’t figure out how to tell it yet, and I’ve spent the better part of the evening thinking about it. So, for now, all i’m going to do is put up the premise, and a bit of text.

What if the whole world were a song? If everything that happened was a line from a song, and every song unique? How would it sound? Would the music fit the person, or the action? How much does emotion come thru?

Ideally, I’d like to tell the story with quotes from songs. Lots of different songs. I’m not sure if it’s ambitious or lazy.

“Are you ready to go, ’cause I’m ready to go. Are you going with me? ” – Powerman 5000, World’s Collide

“As you search for your demi-god? I don’t think so. ” – Bush, Everything Zen

“What’cha gonna do, baby, baby. You can’t decide, so I’ll be your guide.”

“Try to see it once my way. I don’t think so.”

“What is it really, that’s going on here? What is it really, that motivates you? Are you going with me?”

“I don’t think so. Wer’e so bored, you’re to blame.”

So, in the above example, the two songs go back and forth, and to me, it sounds like dialog. Every sentance though, is taken from those two songs, as if the songs were speaking with their own lyrics. Let me know if you think it has potential.

~ by brokenrazor on July 25, 2008.

2 Responses to “Musical Reality (Fiction, Rough Draft)”

  1. i think it has potential, though you could possibly run into copywrite issues because of the use of the lyrics. Though i suppose if you just included an extensive bibliogrophy it would take care of that…

  2. I think it would be cool to do just for fun, good creative excercise! I really want to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

 
